OTRANTO (Le) – Otranto ancient walls will give ospitality to the International Competition “Giornalisti del Mediterraneo”. The winner of this 6th edition is Tamara Ferrari, journalist of the weekly Vanity Fair. The date is promoted by the association “Terra del Mediterraneo”, in partnership with the City of Otranto and Europuglia, portal of promotion of activities and projects in “Servizio Mediterraneo” of Apulia Region.


Award ceremony will occur Saturday, the 13th of September, at 6 p.m. in the medieval village of “Largo Porta Alfonsina”, Info on www.giornalistidelmediterraneo.itor to 346.8262198.

Winners of the two sections are: Michele Sasso (L’Espresso), for “Primavera Araba” andDaniele Bellocchio (Nigrizia magazine), for the section “Children in War”.

Vincenzo Mattei (Al Jazeera) is the winner of the Jury Award. Kami Fares, ( has obtained President of Senate Bronze Medal, on the other hand, Paola Nurnberg (Radio Televisione Svizzera) will receive that of the President of the Chamber of deputies. Photography Award for the spanish journalist Manu Brabo (Pulitzer 2013 for the section Breaking News Photography).

The award for the best report is for Luciana Borsatti (Ansa) and Cristoforo Spinella (Ansa Med). They will recount their testimonies during the evening with the works “Oltre Tahrir” (Beyond Tahrir) and “Pezzi di Turchi” (Turkish pieces), of Editori Internazionali Riuniti.

City of Otranto Award for Massimiliano Menichetti (Radio Vaticana). Mention “Talenti Emergenti” (emergent talents) for Valeria De Simone and Domenico Grimaldi that attend the Biennial Master course of Journalism in University of Bari. Finally, the Special Mention is forMarco Cesario (Linkiesta). The Award “Salento da Amare”, instead, is conferred to Nicoletta Masetto (Il Messaggero di Sant’Antonio).

Caravella Award 2014 is assigned to Hassan Abouyoub (Marocco Kingdom Ambassador in Italy);August Parengkuan (Indonesia Republic Ambassador in Italy); Martin Micallef (Malta News Agency); Roberto Gervaso (journalist and writer); Soufiane Ben Farhat (La Presse de Tunisie);Zouhir Louassini (Rai News 24); Ugo Bassi (European Commission Director DG Inner Trade);Carmen Lasorella (Rai); Attilio Romita (Rai); Armando Massarenti (Il Sole 24 Ore); Giovanni Valentini (La Repubblica); Italo Cucci (Italpress); Angelo Rossano (Corriere del Mezzogiorno);Vincenzo Magistà (Telenorba); Edoardo Winspeare (movie director).

It’ s a great pleasure for Luciano Cariddi, Mayor of Otranto: “A date of distinction is renewed in our territory. The Award represents impulse of cultural beauty and architectural promotion, and, most of all, of our sea”. Common development. “the videos in competition- adds Lino Patruno, Jury President – prove that everything happens in this sea, concerns us. Because, now immigrants arrive here because of the war but one day could arrive progress. Strong participation. “an award that continues increasing- said Tommaso Forte, journalist and Award coordinating – in which there is a comparison of journalists’ talents, busy in telling the pitiless reality of conflicts”.

A true challange for Silvia Godelli, Mediterranean’ s Assessor of Apulia Region. “The Award Journalists of Mediterranean is testimony of vitality, courage, foresight and sensibility of journalists at work, that of the printed paper and that of tv and internet. A beautiful compatition that gathers together the most serious and captivating themes of our modernity. A positive and stimulating example of support of good information”



23 Agosto 2014